At Tillington we have an extremely supportive governing body consisting of parents, teaching and non-teaching staff, members of the community and the Local Authority. The role of the governing body is to ensure that our school continues to improve, celebrating in its successes as well as holding to account decisions made.


The governors have a termly meeting based on an agenda which is set by the Local Authority; however, much of the work is undertaken in smaller sub-committees which generally meet at least once a term.


Each governor has a responsibility for reporting on a particular area of the School Improvement Plan. This involves interacting with staff and the Senior Management Team as well as engaging with the children during lessons and scrutinising data.


The governing body is made up of a mix of new and experienced governors, each bringing  different skills and representing different views. All governors are  appointed for a 4 year term of office.


Minutes of meetings are available in school, please speak to a member of the school office staff.



Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

Jonathan Price - Councillor at Stafford Borough Council, owns Stafford Computing (PC Supplies)

Declaration of Conflict of Interest

Scott Brockhurst - married to Kelly Brockhurst, EYFS Lead

Please see our Governors Committee details here

Please see our Governor meeting attendance list here for 2019 and here for 2018-2019




Term of office end date
Type Of Governor
Rev Elaine Evans
Vice Chair

Chair of Staff and Pupil Welfare Committee, member of Head Teacher Performance Management Committee and Pay Policy Committee.
Scott Brockhurst
Staff Governor

Member of Resources Committee, Curriculum and Standards and Staff and Pupil Welfare Committee.
Samantha Buxton
Parent Governor

Vice-Chair of Staff and Pupil Welfare Committee and member of Pay Policy Committee. Link Governor for Safeguarding.
Simon Rowland
Chair of Governors

Chair of Resources; member of Curriculum and Standards and Pay Policy committees; Headteacher Performance Management committee and ICT link governor
Steph Richardson
Local Authority Governor

Vice-Chair of Curriculum and Standards Committee and member of Staff and Pupil Welfare Committee. Link Governor for Numeracy.
Richard Thomas
Vice Chair

Member of Resources Committee, Pay Policy Committee and Head Teacher Performance Management Committee. Link Governor for EYFS.
Term of office end date
Type Of Governor
Ian Goodwin
Katrina Martin
School Bursar
Dan Glass
Community Governor

Member of Resources Committee and Pay Policy Committee
Jonathan Price
Joint Vice-Chair

Member of Headteacher's Performance Management Committee and Staff and Pupil Welfare Committee. Link governor for SEND.
Steve Kerr
Co-opted Governor

Chair of Curriculum and Standards Committee.